The City Walls

Vatican City is the smallest internationally recognised independent state in the world. There are less than 900 people that live there (and one of those people is the Pope!)

Vatican City is also home to some of Michelangelo’s most renowned artworks, including his beautiful sculpture the Pietà and the ceiling of the Sistine Chapel.

Unfortunately since we hadn’t pre-booked tickets and the line was so long it curved around the city walls, we didn’t enter either building. I’ve already had the pleasure of seeing these artworks from Michelangelo, so if you haven’t had the opportunity to appreciate them in person, I wholeheartedly recommend it.

Instead, I decided to take some photos in St. Peter’s Square. I hope you enjoy them! This is my last post about Italy, but fear not! I have one more country to blog about and I must say it is one of my favourite places in the world…

Until next time, arrivederci!

