Ancient Agora of Athens

After our adventures at the Acropolis we headed down to explore the Ancient Agora of Athens, a historic public gathering place. It is estimated that the agora dates back to 7 BCE, in other words, a really, really long time ago. At the ancient agora we took a stroll through the Stoa of Attalos, which held some interesting ancient artefacts.

Afterwards, we headed up to the Temple of Hephaestus. The temple was amazing as it is mostly intact, even though it was built well over 2000 years ago. It really helps to give you a clear picture of what some of these temples would have looked like in their heyday.

On our final day in Athens, I became sick and had to stay inside for most of the day. Luckily, the incredibly friendly lady at the Greek pharmacist generously gave me some medicine, which helped a lot. We even had time to squeeze in a visit to the National Archaeological Museum! I’m glad we did, because they had a fascinating exhibit showing some of the artefacts that had been collected from shipwrecks. My personal favourite was a marble statue that had been half buried in seafloor sediment. The section of the statue that had been exposed to the water had suffered from corrosion, whereas the section that had been covered was completely clean. It was amazing!

Anyway, I hope you enjoyed this post. It’s time for me to move onto my final (and favourite) destination on my Spring 2014 Europe trip… Santorini!

Until next time, αντίο!

